Birds

Bird watchers find in Madagascar an exceptional quality of observations : although the 284 birds, might seem a small number, one counts 36 endemic kinds, 4 whole endemic families, and taking into account the surface of Madagascar, appearing in fourth position in the world, only 3 species of introduced birds could establish a perennial population.

Some birds in Madagascar are specific in their primitive behavior, others still make their nests on the ground, or even under the ground. The Malagasy species of the largest to the smallest, within each family, filled in the ecological niches held by other species on the other continents.

On the 81 migrating species, 9 of them nest in Madagascar. On the 209 nesting species, 109 are endemic of Madagascar (52%), Only 9 % of the forest species can live in open space. That explains the fragility of birdlife in Madagascar, as it is closely related to the preservation of forests and 97 % these forest species are endemic of Madagascar. As for raptor birds, there are twice more forest species than savanna species.

All of that gives an incomparable importance to bird watching in Madagascar and in the Comoros.

Primate watching

To come to a country which shelters one third of the families of the primates of the whole world is a privilege that we offer you. Assisted by guides whose passion is to observe the lemurs in their natural environment, from the largest, 7 kg to the smallest, 40 g, you will see so many varieties, each of which has different sizes, colors and social behaviors.

We will not be able to discover all the 86 species, that would take several months, but we will do our best to show the most representative of each family in different regions : at least 20 species in 15 days.

It will be a travel which enables us to visit Madagascar from North to South, a land whose natural beauty is acknowledged by travelers. will facilitate the approach of these fabulous animals, which are sometimes considered as sacred and, sometimes cursed by a curious ethnic tradition.

Because this voyage does not move us away from men, these formerly dangerous higher primates will become the travelers’ best friends thanks to ecotourism.

baleine-madagascar

Whale Watching

Humpback whales, or Megaptera coming from the Antarctic carry out regular transhumances between July and September in the hot waters of the Lagoon of Tulear, Sainte Marie, Nosy Be and Moheli in the Comoros to to bring forth or to mate. On board motor boats, or even from the beach, some extraordinary spectacles are offered to our eyes : the songs, the impressive jumps of the large males, the initiation of the whale-calves by their mothers before their return to the ancestral route towards the Southern Pole. Just amazing.

Herpetology

A new approach that we have developed is the observation of reptiles in their natural environment. The dry or wet tropical, and thorny forests all shelter endemic species.

Their colors are fantastic, their aspects often seem to come out of a setting worthy of a Jurassic Park film. The features they share with very remote cousins of South America are really surprising.

herpetologie

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

Oiseaux

Les observateurs d’oiseaux trouvent à Madagascar une qualité exceptionnelle d’observations : sur les 284 oiseaux, sans paraître nombreux, on compte 36 genres endémiques, 4 familles entières endémiques, et compte tenu de la surface de Madagascar, figurant en quatrième position dans le monde, seules 3 espèces d’oiseaux introduites ont pu établir une population pérenne.

Certains oiseaux à Madagascar sont spécifiques dans leur comportement primitif, d’autres font encore leur nid par terre, voire sous terre. Les espèces malgaches de la plus grande à la plus petite, au sein de chaque famille, ont rempli des niches écologiques occupées par d’autres espèces sur les autres continents.

Sur les 81 espèces migratrices, 9 d’entre elles nichent à Madagascar. Sur les 209 espèces nicheuses, 109 sont endémiques à Madagascar (52%), Seulement 9 % des espèces forestières peuvent vivre en espace ouverte. Cela explique la fragilité de l’ornithologie à Madagascar, étroitement liée à la sauvegarde de la forêt et 97 % de ces espèces forestières sont endémiques à Madagascar.  Au niveau des rapaces, il existe deux fois plus d’espèces forestières que d’espèces de savane.

Ce qui donne une importance incomparable à l’observation d’oiseaux à Madagascar et aux Comores.

Circuit Primatologie

Venir sur une terre qui abrite le tiers des familles des primates du monde entier est un privilège que nous vous offrons. L’encadrement par des guides passionnés pour observer les lémuriens dans leur milieu naturel, du plus grand, 7 kg jusqu’au plus petit, 40 g, vous verrez une panoplie de variétés ayant chacune, des tailles, couleurs et des comportements sociaux différents.

Nous n’arriverons pas à découvrir toutes les 86 espèces qu’au bout de plusieurs mois, mais nous ferons tout le possible pour voir les plus représentatifs de chaque famille dans différentes régions : au moins 20 espèces en 15 jours.

Un voyage qui nous fait visiter du Nord au Sud Madagascar doté d’une beauté naturelle reconnue des voyageurs. Une logistique sérieuse vous facilitera l’approche de ces animaux fabuleux, tantôt sacrés, tantôt maudits par une tradition ethnique curieuse.

Car ce voyage ne nous éloigne pas des hommes, ces primates supérieurs autrefois  dangereux deviendront leur meilleur ami grâce à l’écotourisme.

baleine-madagascar

Observation de Baleines

Les baleines à bosse, ou Megaptera venant de l’Antarctique effectuent des transhumances régulières entre Juillet et Septembre dans les eaux chaudes du Lagon de Tuléar, de Sainte Marie, de Nosy Be et de Mohéli aux Comores pour mettre bas ou s’accoupler. A bord des bateaux à moteur, ou même à partir de la plage, des spectacles hors du commun s’offrent à nos yeux : les chants, les sauts impressionnants des grands mâles, l’initiation par leur mère des baleineaux avant leur retour sur le chemin ancestral vers le pôle Sud.

Herpétologie

Une approche nouvelle que nous avons développée est l’observation des reptiles dans leur milieu naturel. Les forêts sèches, ou tropicales humides et épineuses abritent toutes des espèces endémiques.

Leurs couleurs sont fantastiques, leurs aspects sortent souvent d’un décor digne d’un film du Jurassique Park. Leur parenté à des cousins très lointains d’Amérique du Sud est tout aussi curieuse.

herpetologie

Newsletters

Soyez le premier à recevoir nos actualités et deals