Madagascar is a particular language : it may seem very strange at first listen, that we are found virtually no French-sounding.

Literal translations may seem fun, hence the fact that you can understand a sentence distinguishing a few words you have learned before your trip to Madagascar.

A typical intonation islands

The Malagasy language approximates somewhat, by nature, languages ​​spoken in Malaysia, in the Phillippines, Indonesia, Tahiti or New Zealand. Because, all are from the same old common language. The little bulky side, dragging and asked phrases uttered by the Malagasy is, on the other hand, comparable to the languages ​​spoken in the Indian Ocean.

Sometimes amusing extension to words

Learning the Malagasy language is not done in a snap. Indeed, Malagasy vocabulary tends to be odometer, but your first words can be a fun time to share with your hosts, appreciate that whatever happens your effort to try to adapt to Madagascar time to stay.

Pronunciation and Accent Malagasy

And Malagasy vocabulary requires the use of the Latin alphabet modern, certain sounds, however, no equivalent and are represented by two or three letters. Also, the c, q, u and w have no place in the Madagascar spelling. To give you an idea, "o" wrote to say [or], the "e" is pronounced orally, words containing [tr] or [dr] Speak with sounds [tch] and [dz] respectively, while the words containing [to] speak out [O]. Finally, the last vowel is not pronounced and is silent, without exception.

otherwise, Madagascar is governed by numerous rules and other regional exceptions, grammar and pronunciation. You will need to practice some time, and especially, do not hesitate to ask your contacts to correct you, even if they make the effort to read what you say without interrupting.

Basic Expressions / common words

English Malagasy
Hello / good evening Salama
How are you ? Manao ahoana ianao ? ?
Very well, thank you, and you ? Tsara fa misaotra, ary ianao ?
Do you speak French / English ? Frantsay/Anglisy ve ianao ?
I understand / I do not understand Ahiko / Tsy ahiko
Pardon Azafady
Goodbye Veloma
welcome Tonga soa
Thank you (many) Misaotra (betsaka)
Excuse me / SVP Azafady
I am French(e) Frantsay aho
My name is… … no anarako
No thanks Tsia fa misaotra
Yes / No Ia / Ah-ah
You're welcome / You're welcome Tsy misy fisaorana

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

Le malgache est une langue particulière : elle peut sembler très étrange à la première écoute, du fait que l’on n’y retrouve pratiquement aucune consonance francophone.

Les traductions littérales peuvent sembler amusantes, d’où le fait que vous puissiez comprendre une phrase en distinguant seulement quelques mots que vous aurez appris avant votre voyage à Madagascar.

Une intonation typique des îles

La langue malgache se rapproche quelque peu, par sa nature, des langues parlées en Malaisie, aux Philippines, en Indonésie, à Tahiti ou encore en Nouvelle-Zélande. Pour cause, toutes sont issues d’une même langue commune ancienne. Le petit côté volumineux, traînant et posé des phrases prononcées par les Malgaches est, quant à lui, comparable à celui des langues parlées dans l’océan Indien.

Des mots à rallonge parfois amusants

L’apprentissage de la langue malgache ne se fait pas en un claquement de doigts. En effet, le vocabulaire malgache a tendance à être kilométrique, mais vos premiers mots peuvent être un moment amusant à partager avec vos hôtes, qui apprécieront quoi qu’il arrive votre effort à essayer de vous adapter à Madagascar le temps d’un séjour.

La prononciation et l’accentuation malgache

Si le vocabulaire malgache nécessite l’utilisation de l’alphabet latin moderne, certains sons n’ont toutefois pas d’équivalent et sont représentés par deux ou trois lettres. Aussi, le c, le q, le u et le w n’ont pas leur place dans l’orthographe malgache. Pour vous donner une idée, le « o » écrit se prononce [ou], le « e » est accentué à l’oral, les mots contenant [tr] ou [dr] se prononcent avec les sons [tch] et [dz] respectivement, tandis que les mots contenant [ao] se prononcent [o]. Enfin, la dernière voyelle n’est pas accentuée et ne se prononce pas, sauf exception.

Par ailleurs, le malgache est régi par de très nombreuses règles et autres exceptions régionales, de grammaire et de prononciation. Il vous faudra pratiquer un certain temps, et surtout, ne pas hésiter à demander à vos interlocuteurs de vous corriger, même s’ils feront l’effort de déchiffrer ce que vous dites sans vous interrompre.

Expressions de base / Mots courants

Français Malgache
Bonjour / Bonsoir Salama
Comment allez-vous ? Manao ahoana ianao ?
Très bien, merci, et vous ? Tsara fa misaotra, ary ianao ?
Parlez-vous français/anglais ? Frantsay ve ianao ?
Je comprends/ Je ne comprends pas Ahiko / Tsy ahiko
Pardon Azafady
Au revoir Veloma
Bienvenue Tonga soa
Merci (beaucoup) Misaotra (betsaka)
Excusez-moi/SVP Azafady
Je suis Français(e) Frantsay aho
Je m’appelle… … no anarako
Non merci Tsia fa misaotra
Oui/Non Ia / Ah-ah
De rien / Je vous en prie Tsy misy fisaorana

Newsletters

Soyez le premier à recevoir nos actualités et deals