COMORIAN ISLANDS

Composed of four islands, one French, Mayotte, the Comoran Islands we reserve nice surprises : highly colored, rich in diversity and intensely traditional. This is traditional and natural character that pushed us to focus on three islands Grande Comore, Anjouan and Moheli.

The Grande Comore

The Grande Comore, full of stories and legends, having been successively the Portuguese invasions, Arab and French, has become a major hub of trade in the northern part of the Indian Ocean between the IX and XIX centuries. kingdoms, Sultanate, Piracy, Colonization have all left traces of splendor, decadence, renewal and transfer. She is also the youngest of the Comoros Islands have experienced a recent and still active volcanism, the latest blast took place in 1977. What gives a particular aspect to the Island, dominated by volcanic black rocks, contrasting with the turquoise blue sea and the white flashes of the waves, giving it a lovely tropical volcanic island allure. She has few rivers, which distinguishes it from other Islands, its people rely on ground water finely filtered by volcanic rocks. Many monuments are still standing : public places, N'gomé or wall protecting the city, not to mention the mosques ; In summary, Grande Comore is truly dedicated to the cultural understanding of the Island especially, when you cross the celebration of a great marriage, a festive event that can last a week to a village.

Anjouan

Anjouan is an island born of a sub longest undersea volcano. The rivers are rich, the mountain forms a large barrier to clouds and rain is more frequent. This allows a richer agriculture than on other islands. Here, rural facet of the Comoros is more pronounced : banana crops, clove, vanilla, cocoa, ylang ylang, orange, cassava,... The atmosphere is friendly medinas and colorful markets. Anjouan also has beautiful waterfalls and waterfalls. The road through the interior, sinuous and shaded by lush vegetation, you closer to nature Comorian which is home to unique species in the Island. More, it is also full of stories of conquest and Arab countertops and has kept the impression a Bantu expansion preceding the birth of Swahili culture.

Moheli

Moheli or "Island nature", has kept the wild of its unique nature. She has a natural charm unusual : Mountain, mangrove, white sand beaches, uninhabited islets, primary forest, fauna and flora still preserved : large bald mice Living Stone ; one still encounters the green turtles come to nest on the quiet beaches. It gives a more remote air of modern civilization than the other two islands, what also makes its charm. The population is predominantly rural and has a sense of hospitality.

Newsletters

Be the first to receive our news and Deals

LES ILES COMORIENNES

Composées de quatre Iles, dont une française, Mayotte, les Iles Comoriennes nous réservent de belles surprises : hautes en couleurs, riches en diversités et intensément traditionnelles. C’est ce caractère traditionnel et naturel qui nous a poussés à nous concentrer aux trois Iles Grande Comore, Anjouan et Moheli.

La Grande Comore

La Grande Comore, chargée d’histoires et de légendes, ayant connu successivement les invasions portugaises, arabes et françaises, est devenue un grand carrefour du commerce de la partie Nord de l’Océan Indien entre les IX et XIX siècles. Royaumes, Sultanat, Piraterie, Colonisation y ont tous laissé des traces de splendeur, de décadence, de renouveau et de mutation. Elle est aussi la plus jeune des Iles Comores ayant connu un volcanisme récent et encore actif, la dernière explosion a eu lieu en 1977. Ce qui donne un aspect particulier à l’Ile, dominée par les roches noires volcaniques, contrastant avec la mer bleue turquoise et avec les éclats blancs des vagues, lui conférant une allure d’Ile tropicale volcanique charmante. Elle ne comporte peu de cours d’eau, ce qui la différencie des autres Iles, ses habitants comptent sur les nappes phréatiques finement filtrées par les roches volcaniques. Beaucoup de monuments sont encore debout : places publiques, N’gomé ou muraille de protection de la ville, sans parler des mosquées ; en résumé, la Grande Comore est véritablement vouée à la compréhension culturelle de l’Ile surtout, quand on croise la célébration d’un grand mariage, un évènement très festif qui peut durer une semaine pour tout un village.

Anjouan

Anjouan est une Ile née d’un volcan sous marin plus ancien. Les cours d’eau sont riches, la montagne forme une grande barrière aux nuages et la pluie y est plus fréquente. Ce qui permet une agriculture plus riche que sur les autres Iles. Ici, la facette rurale des Comores est plus accentuée : culture de bananes, de girofle, de vanille, de cacao, d’ylang ylang, d’orange, de manioc,…L’ambiance des médinas est sympathique et les marchés très colorés. Anjouan comporte aussi des belles cascades et des chutes. La route qui traverse l’intérieur des terres, sinueuse et ombragée par une végétation luxuriante, vous rapproche de la nature comorienne laquelle abrite des espèces uniques à l’Ile. Mais, elle est aussi chargée d’histoires de conquête et de comptoirs arabes et a su garder l’empreinte d’une expansion bantoue précédant la naissance de la culture Swahili.

Mohéli

Mohéli ou « Ile nature », a su garder l’état sauvage de sa nature unique. Elle a un charme naturel hors du commun : montagne, mangrove, plages de sable blanc, Ilots inhabités, forêt primaire, faune et flore encore conservées : les grandes chauves souris Living stone ; on croise encore les tortues vertes venir pondre sur les plages tranquilles. Elle donne un air plus reculé de la civilisation moderne que les deux autres Iles, ce qui lui fait aussi son charme. La population est fortement rurale et a un sens de l’hospitalité.

Newsletters

Soyez le premier à recevoir nos actualités et deals